Meeting Brothers Green

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A few weeks ago I had the opportunity to meet up with two of my biggest food inspirations, Josh and Mike Greenfield, the creators of Brother Green Eats on Youtube, my favorite food channel. 

I follow them on Snapchat and Instagram, and one random Thursday they announced that they were going to have some sort of meetup that night in Logan Square.

Needless to say, I was excited.

I introduced Natalie to Brothers Green sometime last fall, and ever since, we’ve made a habit out of staying in and watching food videos together on Friday nights. It’s a goddamn tradition now.

We had a lot of work to do, and the obvious practical answer was to not go. Logan Square is over an hour away by public transit and Brothers Green had said that the meetup was at midnight. But I could tell that this was the kind of event I’d only regret not going to.

After all, who would turn down a chance to meet two people who strongly influenced her approach to cooking?

Thank god for random 60% off Uber rides. For $10 each, Natalie, Christina and I enjoyed short but pleasant car rides with two fantastic drivers – s/o to Jonathan and Robert Jr. – to round out a mind-blowing evening.

Josh and Mike were set up on a street corner filming an episode for their MTV show. We chatted with them as they prepared to film, snapped a few pictures and watched them cook tamales. I struggled to keep my cool, as I’d never been in a situation like this before (except when I met Liam Hemsworth a few summers ago when he was filming a movie in Ann Arbor, MI) except this time, I felt like the super fan – I was even wearing the Brothers Green shirt that Natalie got me for my birthday.

The night wrapped up with us being served tamales, getting filmed for their show (!!!) and grabbing a few Snapchats.

We made it back to campus at 3 a.m., and even though I was tired as hell the next day, I had no regrets. The night exceeded my expectations so much. I can’t even describe how in shock I felt the next morning; I just kept watching my Snapchat story over and over again.


At this point, you might be thinking that I’m some sort of obsessed, creepy groupie. Well, I guess that’s one way to look at it. If you know me, however, or have read some of my other stuff on Cat the Critic, you might know that Brothers Green has been super influential in my development and growth as a cook.

On my blog, they’ve inspired forays into green curry coconut noodle soup and shakshuka, and for TWO YEARS now (curious? click here and here), I’ve touted them as one of the most motivating and approachable food channels on Youtube.

Offline, however, I implicitly incorporate their tips and tricks into my own cooking and draw inspiration from the carefree, experimental attitude that they take towards food.

My favorite video series by them is probably their “ways to get creative with” videos, most notably the coconut milk one.

Mike and Josh have helped me explore beyond just watching the Food Network, and have propelled me into the world of Youtube cooking channels, which often ditch the rigid structure of half-hour cooking shows in favor of more accessible, creative videos that are only a few minutes long. Brothers Green was one of the first channels that I actually subscribed to, in that I kept an active lookout for their videos because the concept was so unique and intriguing.

Two brothers from New York who come up with insanely creative recipes, and are eager to eat and explore different food cultures? Irresistible.

I’ve watched their content develop and evolve through the years. From making late-night, drunchies-type videos aimed at college students, they have shifted focus to explore more international cuisines, sometimes through travelling to other countries and sometimes gorging on food in New York  City.

They continued to take multiple different approaches to food, creating videos aimed at vegetarians, or lovers of Taco Bell and Chipotle. They also put out food hack videos and musical cover recipe videos, all while maintaining that high-level of spontaneity and casual, informalness that probably drew in many viewers in the first place.

Their video style is conversational and personal. They tell you stories about their lives and joke with each other, all with this natural, brotherly banter that wins people over quite quickly.

They’ve personalized their channel by putting out a “History of the Brothers Green” video, which I’ve been watching for the past few weeks in 10-minute chunks. As I’ve watched it, I came away with a lot of strong realizations about developing my interests and chasing my passions. Hearing them tell their story – which is long, arduous and winding – helps bridge that gap that people mentally create between “famous people” and themselves. It helped me understand how success can’t be accurately measured in the short-term and that a lot of experimentation, self-doubt and HARD WORK has to happen before success begins to accumulate.

One thing’s for sure: I can’t wait for that MTV episode to come out. LOLS

One thought on “Meeting Brothers Green

Leave a Reply

