How to: ravioli, shakshuka + honey sriracha broccoli

IMG_3854It always starts like this. I come home hungry and look around in the fridge for potential dinner options.

On one particular night, I saw ravioli in the freezer, and decided on it. But then I think, wait, I need a vegetable to balance this out. 

So I checked the fridge and saw a head of broccoli. Nice. 

But as always, I unnecessarily complicate meals, incorporating more and more ingredients because I see things sitting in my cabinets and think, would that work? Let’s try it out.

I saw the carton of eggs and thought…wait…I’ve been watching a lot of videos about shakshuka…should I? Yeah, why not?

What’s shakshuka? In essence, it’s a popular Israeli breakfast option thought to have originated in Tunisia that involves poaching or cooking eggs in tomato sauce.

So I made ravioli in a turkey tomato sauce, with honey sriracha broccoli. And then I made three servings of shakshuka just to see how it would turn out.

I cooked the ravioli according to the package’s directions.

Turkey tomato sauce

Brown ground turkey in a pan with olive oil, add spices (I used salt, pepper, paprika and Mrs. Dash), a 16 oz. tin of crushed tomatoes, and a tablespoon of honey. Let it come to a boil, and then simmer it for 10 minutes.

Shakshuka

IMG_3844
To make the presentation a bit more appealing, I would have: tossed it under the broiler to toast the cheese, and added chopped herbs…

Crack eggs in and give them space, turn the heat up to high, sprinkle mozzarella and Parmesan over the eggs, cover with a lid, and let cook for 6 minutes on MEDIUM HEAT until the white is cooked through and the yolk is still runny. Alternatively, you could cook it in the oven like Brothers Green does, but I found that stovetop works well too. However, sticking it under the broiler for at least a minute would do well in browning the top and making it look a lot more appetizing.

If you want to keep the eggs as leftovers, just scoop them into a storage container with plenty of tomato sauce. When you want to have them again, microwaving them is a quick way to warm them up, and it definitely works, but if you have a single serving ramekin and have the time to bake it off in the oven again, do that.

A whole 16 oz (?) can of tomato sauce made enough servings for three people to have shakshuka, aka a meal and two servings of leftovers for yours truly.

Broccoli in honey and sriracha sauce

Chop a head of broccoli into small florets. Heat up oil to medium-high on the stovetop and toss in florets, seasoning with s + p. Add drizzle of honey, sriracha and soy sauce. Cook until sauce is thickened and broccoli is tender.

2 thoughts on “How to: ravioli, shakshuka + honey sriracha broccoli

Leave a Reply

