Cutting corners by being semi-homemade: Shrimp Mushroom wrap

FullSizeRender (53)One of my favorite TV shows on Food Network was Semi-Homemade Cooking, hosted by Sandra Lee.

She threw together delicious looking food in minutes by cutting lots of corners by buying some pre-prepared food and combining it with some key fresh ingredients.

I took that away years later but the important thing is that I did.

Today, I made lunch for my mom and I, using leftovers, prepared food and a couple of fresh ingredients.

I used Habanero Lime tortillas from Trader Joes and warmed them up in the microwave by wrapping them in a damp paper towel for 30 seconds.

I rinsed mushrooms for a total of 10 seconds (MAX) in water before draining them and wiping excess dirt off with a damp paper towel. I know lots of chefs don’t wash them and just use the damp paper towel, but there’s so much dirt on them that I can’t bear to look the other way. I know that mushrooms tend to absorb water like *that*, which is why I try to be quick with the process.

I added some oil to a hot pan and threw in the mushrooms (maybe about 10 or so baby bellas for my mom and I) which I had chopped up. I added salt to draw out the moisture so that I could let the water just evaporate off, and pepper to taste.

My mom made these awesome Chinese pork ribs, and we had a few leftover in a bowl with a couple of tea eggs that she cooked along with them. The fact from the pork had mixed with the delicious soy-sauce based sauce. I popped the dish in the microwave for 30 seconds and poured some of the sauce (which consisted of ingredients like rock sugar candies, soy sauce, wine, garlic and ginger) into the mushrooms and then turned the stove off when the mushrooms were cooked and most of the moisture was cooked out.

On the tortillas I scattered some sliced romaine lettuce for crunch, sprinkled some Parmesan cheese for a distinct saltiness, and spread out some of the mushrooms. I added a few shrimp from Costco’s Cilantro Lime Shrimp package (which is really, really tasty) and sliced up a tea egg on top.

Tea eggs are basically hard-boiled eggs steeped in some sort of dark sauce, so that the color permeates the egg white and turns them dark brown. They are delicious. I guess since my mom didn’t use tea in the pork sauce, I can’t refer to them as tea eggs. Oh well.

The whole meal came together in less than ten minutes and was really delicious to eat. It was pretty healthy too. All of the possibilities available if you just think semi-homemade!

Leave a Reply

