Taqueria Del Sol: Simple, “Cross-Cultural Flair” in Record Time

Taqueria del Sol. I’d heard a bunch about it when I asked around about Mexican food in Atlanta, and I finally went with my sister one day to see what this place was all about.

The restaurant believes in providing a few high-quality dishes as opposed to many “okay” dishes, which is a point with which I strongly agree. The food they offer is very simple, and the menu is short. They have six tacos, a make-your-own-enchilada option, three apps, and a medley of sides, as well as two lunch specials and three dinner specials that rotate every week. They also have an extensive alcohol menu!

We’d driven past it on a Saturday evening, appalled to see a line that stretched out the door.

It turns out that the line is for placing orders, some of which will make their way to people that have seated themselves at tables, and some to be packed to go.

On a Monday around 11:30 AM, my sister and I found ourselves in a line out the door that moved with surprising speed; I spent my time taking a look at their menu.

The crowd during that lunch rush consisted of lots of young office workers, looking for a quick bite in their lunch break. This place is also perfect for college students craving tacos, or anyone searching for really quick and cheap food. Here’s why:

1) Cost. The tacos were all less than $3, and I was pleasantly surprised with what I got, with little room for improvement (more on that later). I also ordered guacamole for $4 which was very overpriced, considering that I got a huge portion of chips but just a small container of guac. I could have done without.photo 1 (8)

2) Speed. This was one of the quickest meals I’ve had, with us waiting no longer than two minutes for our guacamole appetizer to arrive, and two more for the tacos too. We were in and out of that place in less than 45 minutes! The line moves equally as quick, so this place suits people in a rush.

3) Atmosphere. Blue patio, blue theme, inside and outside seating, and simple decor. Nothing bad to say about the atmosphere! It was upbeat 🙂

4) Taste. I put this one last because each taco was pretty simple, and by simple, I mean that there was very little in each, just meat and a bit of sauce, if the menu description called for it. For example, my fried chicken taco (visible below) had the tiniest sprinkling of lettuce, and my pork taco had a dash of salsa, but I could have done with more “filler” ingredients, like lettuce, because otherwise the tacos are left overly simple. However, I should have expected this from the price of each taco, and lots of other factors (see #1-3) make this place worth visiting more than once.

photo 2 (9)photo 3 (6)

 

Additional note: After this meal, my sister and I walked into International Bakery, which is right next door Taqueria del Sol, and bought a delicious cannoli (shown below). Talk about ending a meal with something sweet! photo 4 (5)

Locations:

2165 Cheshire Bridge Road
Atlanta, GA 30324
(404) 321-1118

1200-B Howell Mill Road
Atlanta, GA 30318
(404) 352-5811

359 W. Ponce de Leon Avenue
Decatur, GA 30030
(404) 377-7668

334 Prince Avenue
Athens, GA 30601
706 353 3890

2 thoughts on “Taqueria Del Sol: Simple, “Cross-Cultural Flair” in Record Time

Leave a Reply

